Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata




CPU Priority Setting


The CPU priority level updates the process and thread priority for the currently running backup. The lowest level will allow other processes on your system to use CPU cycles in preference to the running backup, whereas the highest priority may cause other processes to wait for available CPU time.  There's no 'correct' level, it depends on the demands you require of the PC workload. The default setting is 'Highest'. 





Purge Log File Settings


Option

Description

Remove log filesChoose number of days of weeks
Move to Recycle Bin

Deleted logs will be moved to the Recycle Bin.

Perform at startupLogs will be deleted when Reflect starts up.

You can press the Remove Now button to remove the logs manually at any time.






Advanced Backup Settings

Option

Description

Ignore bad sectors when creating images.Damaged disks may still be imaged if this option is selected.
Display backup notification delay for 

Changes the time the 'Backup task' delay window is displayed before a scheduled backup starts.




Note: Clicking 'Do not show this message again' will uncheck the default setting here. 
Do not abort a file and folder backup if a root folder is missing.Enabling this option will allow your File and Folder backup to continue even if a root folder of the backup is missing.
Enforce an entered image or File and Folder backup file name.Normally, if you run an Incremental or Differential image of say drive 'C', the target folder is searched for a recent backup set for the same source (Drive 'C'). The backup set is then appended to. The file name you have chosen for the backup will not be used in this matching process. 

If you enter your own file name and select "Enforce entered image or file and folder backup file name" then only backup sets using the same backup definition file name and for the same source will be appended to, if none is found then a new full will be created. 
Show a warning in the log if retention rules remove all backups in the destination folder.

If enabled, and all backups in the destination folder are deleted due to retention rules set prior to the backup starting, or the free space threshold is reached, then a warning message is shown in the log and the backup completes with a warning status.  

Note: The Warning will not be triggered if the Retention rules are explicitly set to retain 1 Full image and set to run before the backup. In this case, it is expected that there will be no backups before the current backup runs.
Only allow Administrators to monitor running backupsFor multi-user systems, such as terminal servers,  ReflectMonitor will not run for non-administrator accounts if selected.
 
Report transfer rates.

Will allow you to change the way transfer rates are reported in.







Advanced Incremental Settings

Enabling Delta indexes will reduce incremental file size and can increase the speed of merging Incremental backups during Synthetic Full and Incremental consolidation.
Additionally, all previous files in the backup set, up to the previous Diff or Full, are required to continue to append to the set.

For more information on Macrium Changed Block Tracker please see here Macrium Changed Block Tracker





Stealth Mode for Intra-Daily Backups

Intra-daily backups can generate frequent and often unnecessary interruptions and log activity. Stealth Mode solves this problem by suppressing non-essential notifications and logs:


Suppress the Backup Start dialog.

Never show the Backup Start dialog that is shown when a scheduled backup is triggered. 
Note:  This overrides the default setting for the dialog. 
Only show Failed, Cancelled and Warning completion notifications.Taskbar popups and notifications will not be shown for successful backups. 

Only generate essential logs.

__________________________________

Logs will only be generated for Failed, Warning or Cancelled backups, and File and Folder backups when any file is changed, added or removed. 

____________________________________________________________________


Intra-Daily Stealth mode is enabled by default, and if an Intra-daily schedule is selected then the following dialog is shown:


Click 'Stealth Mode Settings' to open the defaults dialog to change or confirm. 
Select 'Do not show this again' to stop this message being shown in the future. 
You can re-enable by taking 'Other Tasks' > Edit Defaults' > 'Advanced' > 'Miscellaneous'





Destination Drive Discovery

Option

Description

Use assigned drive letter (default)

The drive letter in the destination path is used exclusively to locate the backup target path.
The destination path is saved in the format '<DRIVE LETTER>:\Folder\'

This enables multiple backup drives to be used in rotation if Windows assigns the same drive letter for each drive.

Use volume GUID path

The unique volume identifier associated with the backup drive is saved in the backup definition file and used to locate the destination path.
The destination path is saved in the format '\\?\Volume{GUID}\Folder\'

This enables Windows to assign a different letter to the same drive and the new letter will be automatically chosen as the backup destination.

Note: If 'Use volume GUID path' is selected you must edit/re-save existing backup definitions to reflect the change in the XML file. 



VSS Settings

Option

Description

Option

Description

Exclude all VSS writers to resolve specific snapshot failures.

This option will disable VSS writers. Due to Windows system configuration issues, VSS writers are the cause of some backup failures.

This may cause issues with other VSS aware applications.

Automatically retry without VSS writers on failureReflect will try to create a backup of your system without using VSS; this option is useful when experiencing VSS related errors.

Create additional VSS logs for debugging.

Each backup will create additional VSS logs that can be used in order to troubleshoot VSS related issues when creating backups.

Exclude SQL Server writers.

Select this option if you are using dedicated SQL backup software. This will prevent SQL logs from being truncated when creating a Disk Image or File and folder backup.
Do not truncate Exchange logs when imaging or creating file and folder backups.Select this option if you are using dedicated MS Exchange backup software. This will prevent Exchange logs from being truncated when creating a Disk Images.



Macrium Reflect PE File Location


By default, the files to create, and boot, your rescue media are saved to directory  'c:\boot\macrium'.  Select a different local drive if your 'C' drive is compromised by storing approximately 1GB of storage space here. 




CD/DVD Burner Troubleshooting


Disable CD/DVD drive enumeration

CD/DVD burners that fail to return from a query request may cause an application hang. Select this option as a troubleshooting step if Macrium Reflect hangs on startup. 
Create a CD Engine log fileTurning this option creates a log file that can be used for troubleshooting CD/DVD burner connection activity.
Log file: 'C:\HPCDE.log'




Script Editors


Set the program to use as an editor when editing your VBScript, PowerShell, MS-DOS batch, and xml files.



Configure Hotkey


ReflectMonitor is a standalone application that is used to monitor the progress, and cancel, background backups. ReflectMonitor can be easily accessed using a Hotkey sequence. You can enable and configure the Hotkey here.  



Miscellaneous Options


Click the 'Reset' button to re-enable all dialogs hidden by selecting the 'Do not show this again' check box. 

There are several dialogs in Reflect, an example below:













  • No labels