Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

For extra security against Ransomware or Malware attacks it may be desirable to ensure that backup targets on a NAS or a Windows shared folder are disconnected as soon as your backup has finished.  

Please also see Macrium Image Guardian for more information on how the built-in functionality of MIG can help protect your backups on protected shares. 

If necessary, Macrium Reflect will automatically create a network connection whenever a backup is created on a network share. Network connections persists until the number of seconds in the Windows network session 'time-out' value is reached. This value is Windows setting and defaults to 15 minutes.  Since Windows doesn't share credentials and only one user can have an authenticated network access to a share at any one time, concurrent connections are not allowed by Windows networking.

More information from MS on time-outs and disconnects can be found by clicking here.

How to disconnect active shares

Run the following command in an elevated command prompt:

net use /delete \\server\sharename

How to change the idle timeout value for all network share connections

Run the following command in an elevated command prompt:

net config server /autodisconnect:number

Where number is the idle timeout in seconds. Use 0 for very quick disconnections and -1 to never disconnect.

Macrium Reflect also has a way to automatically delete active connections

Authenticated Network connections created by Macrium Reflect at the start of a backup can be automatically terminated on application exit rather than waiting for the default Windows timeout.

To enable this, create the following registry entry: 

Type:DWORD 32 bit