When deleting or moving backup files using Windows Explorer you may see the following error message:
This is normal behaviour and indicates that the drive is protected with Macrium Image Guardian.
MIG is a new feature of Macrium Reflect v7.1 and will automatically protect local backup drives from acidental deletion and Ransomware.
If you have updated from an earlier release of Macrium Reflect, and backup drives have been protected. then you will see the following message box the first time Macrium reflect is started:
Enabling and Disabling MIG on NTFS Volumes
MIG can be enabled or disabled on any NTFS volume by using the 'Actions' menu in the Macrium Reflect main window.
A MIG shield indicates that a volume is protected:
Activating Macrium Image Guardian
MIG is active directly after installation and will automatically protect backup destination drives.
To turn MIG on or off, take the 'Other Tasks' > 'Macrium Image Guardian Settings..' menu option:
|Turn on Image Guardian||Starts the Image Guardian Service|
|Automatically protect local backup drives|
When turned on, all saved backup definitions are searched and Image Guardian is enabled for local backup drives
When creating a new backups, unprotected target drives will be automatically protected by enabling Image Guardian on the drive.
When the PC is restarted, Image Guardian will be re-enabled on all backup drives. This prevents accidentally leaving your drives unprotected by manually turning protection off.
|Allow RoboCopy to sync and move backup files on protected volumes|
Enables the MS utility RoboCopy to delete and overwrite backup files on protected volumes with the /MOV, /MOVE, /PURGE and /MIR parameters.
RoboCopy and Network Shares
If the source of a /MOVE /MOV or target of a /MIR /PURGE operation is a MIG protected volume on a network share then all delete operations are blocked. This is because RoboCopy 'Rules' can only be applied if the Windows session that's opening the files is the same Windows session that's running RoboCopy. In the case of a network share, the remote computer is opening the files and will block all delete operations.
Turns off the Image Guardian service.