Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Please ensure that you are running Macrium Reflect v6.1.1309 or later.

Disk images cannot be used to backup Hyper-V Cluster Shared Volumes. 

Server 2012R2 Hyper-V Cluster Shared Volumes (CSV) can be backed up using the File and Folder backup functionality in Macrium Reflect.  

You must use the File and Folder restore functionality to restore VHD and VHDX files. You cannot mount/browse backup files and use Copy and Paste to restore files larger than 4GB


To ensure that you have correctly backed up the CSV folders please check the backup log. 

Successful CSV snapshot Example.
Note the lines ‘CSV - Volume n’ and the snapshot line:

The successful VSS log will also indicate ‘C:\ClusterStorage\Volume*’ added to the snapshot:

 

 


Failed Snapshot Example.

Note the Error message: VSS failed for Cluster Shared Storage. Ensure that no folders outside of CSV mount points are included in this backup


 


How to backup Cluster Shared Volumes


  1. From the Backup task bar, select 'Create a File and Folder backup' to start the backup wizard.
      
  2. Select 'Add folder'. 

    The 'Select Folder to backup' dialog appears. 

    Select/Add only folder(s) beneath the C:\ClusterStorage\ in order for the Clustered Shared Volume contents to be included in your backup. 
    Do not include folders outside of the 'C:\ClusterStorage\' mount point otherwise VSS will fail.


    Several different masks and wildcards can be specified to include specific files within the given directory or exclude other files.

    Option
    Description
    Include sub-foldersRecourse all folders below the backup folder using the specified filters
    Exclude hidden files and foldersDo not backup files or folders that have the Hidden attribute
    Exclude system files and foldersDo not backup files or folders that have the System attribute
    Add files to includeAdd a semi-colon separated list of file name filters to include in the backup. Use the asterisk * character as a wild card.
    For example; *.doc; *data*; *.xls
    Add files to excludeAdd a semi-colon separated list of file name filters to exclude from the backup. Use the asterisk * character as a wild card.
    Note: Exclude filters take precedence over include filters
    Add any folders to excludeAdd a semi-colon separated list of folder name filters to exclude from the backup. Use the asterisk * character as a wild card.
    Filter names can be full path and/or folder names. 

    For example: 
    *temp*  will exclude all folders with the letters 'temp' anywhere in the folder name
    *\data\temp* will exclude all paths where the folder name begins with 'temp' that has a parent folder named 'data'



  3. Click OK
  4. Repeat to add further CSV directories if necessary.
  5. In the Destination section, specify where you want the backup to be created. 

    Alternative Locations can be used to provide backup rotations or as a fail safe for temporary unavailability of the primary backup destination.
     
  6. When you have finished adding folders and making all necessary changes, click Next
  7. The Backup Plan is shown:
     
     The new Macrium Reflect retention rules provide a powerful and flexible way to manage the lifetime and storage space used by your backups.

    Choose how backups are matched and retention rules are applied to the target folder

    Retention rules are applied to the target folder of the backup by selecting one of two options:

    1. Apply retention rules to matching backup sets in the target folder.

      Disk Images are purged if they contain exactly the same Partitions as the current Image. Partitions are identified using the unique Disk ID stored in sector 0 of the disk and the Partition sector offset.

      Note: For GPT disks the unique GPT disk GUID is used instead of the Disk ID


      For File and Folder backups retention rules are applied according to the 'Backup Set Matching' option select in the 'Advanced Properties' for this backup.

    2. Apply retention rules to all backup sets in the target folder. All backup sets in the target folder of the same type (Disk Image or File and Folder) are purged according the retention rules. 

      Note: This option uses the same logic as Macrium Reflect v5

    Select the age or number of backup types that you wish to keep

    OptionDescription
    Full When deleting Full backups all linked incremental and Differential backups in the same backup chain (set) are also deleted This operation will delete the entire backup set.
    DifferentialWhen deleting Differential backups all linked incremental  backups in the same backup chain (set) are also deleted.
    Incremental

    When deleting Incremental backups the integrity of the backup set is maintained by ensuring that the chain is never broken. This is achieved by merging older Incremental backups when required.

    In the example below,  before retention, there is 1 Full backup, 1 Differential backup and 6 Incremental backups. The retention rules are set to retain 4 incremental backups. After retention, the most recent 4 incremental backups are retained. Deleting the oldest 2 incrementals would cause the backup chain to be invalid as the oldest retained incremental requires the previous 2 incremental backups to complete the chain. To ensure backup integrity the 2 older incremental backups are consolidated with it to create a new incremental backup.
     

    F = Full
    D = Differential
    I = Incremental

    MTWTF  MTWTF  MTW
    F      IIII  FII
            --->I      


    Create a Synthetic Full if possible

    When purging Incremental backups, if the backup set only contains a Full backup followed by Incremental backups, then this option causes the Full backup to be 'rolled forward' to create a Synthetic Full backup. This is also known as Incremental Forever. 

    Run the purge before the backup

    Select this option to run the retention rules before the current backup.

    Note: in Macrium Reflect v5 the current backup set wasn't included in the purge calculation when purging before the current backup. In v6 the current backup set IS included. This means that if you set the retention count to 1 Full backup then all of your backups will be deleted and a new Full backup created.
    Delete oldest backup set(s) if less than n GB

    Automatically remove the oldest backup set(s) in the target folder if the free space on the drive drops below the GB threshold.

    Note: The free space threshold is actioned dynamically. If the free space available drops below the threshold then the running backup is temporarily paused while older backup sets are purged.

     

     


     

     



  8. The next screen, Summary, gives the details of what is being backed up. Click Finish.