Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Activating Macrium Image Guardian

MIG is active directly after installation and will automatically protect backup destination drives.

To turn MIG on or off, take the 'Other Tasks' > 'Macrium Image Guardian Settings..' menu option:

 

 

Turn on Image GuardianStarts the Image Guardian Service
Automatically protect local backup drives

When turned on, all saved backup definitions are searched and Image Guardian is enabled for local backup drives

When creating a new backups, unprotected target drives will be automatically protected by enabling Image Guardian on the drive.

When the PC is restarted, Image Guardian will be re-enabled on all backup drives. This prevents accidentally leaving your drives unprotected by manually turning protection off.

Allow RoboCopy to sync and move backup files on protected volumes

Enables the MS utility RoboCopy to delete and overwrite backup files on protected volumes with the /MOV, /MOVE, /PURGE and /MIR parameters.


ParameterRule
/MOVE
/MOV

If the source folder is on a protected volume then the /MOVE /MOV parameters will only delete backup files in the source folder if the destination folder is also on a protected volume.

This ensures that existing files cannot be moved to an unprotected volume and compromised.
/MIR
/PURGE

If the target folder is on a protected volume then the the /MIR  /PURGE parameters will only delete backup files in the target folder if both of the following conditions are true:

  1. The source folder is a backup destination in any saved backup definition xml file.
  2. The target folder is not a backup destination in any saved backup defintion xml file

This ensures that the synchronisation operation cannot inadvertently, or otherwise, delete files in a folder that is used as a backup destination in Macrium Reflect.

All overwrite operationsIf the result of any parameter is to overwrite an existing backup file on a protected volume then this will only be allowed if the target folder is not a backup destination in any saved backup definition xml file.

RoboCopy and Network Shares

If the source of a /MOVE /MOV or target of a /MIR /PURGE operation is a MIG protected volume on a network share then all delete operations are blocked. This is because RoboCopy 'Rules' can only be applied if the Windows session that's opening the files is the same Windows session that's running RoboCopy. In the case of a network share, the remote computer is opening the files and will block all delete operations.



 

Off

Turns off the Image Guardian service.

Restart service on rebootThe service will remain 'Off' until the next Windows startup. If not selected the service will remain 'Off' until re-enabled in this dialog.
  • No labels