Child pages
  • Upgrade FAQ
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata
Introduction
This FAQ covers some of the commonly encountered queries regarding transitioning from Macrium Reflect v6 to v7.

How do I download the v7 Installer if I've purchased an upgrade?

Enter your v7 key in the Macrium Reflect download manager. Your v7 key will begin with  56-, 57-, 58- or 99.
Please see Installing a Macrium Reflect v6 to v7 Upgrade

What's the difference between the Home Edition and the Workstation Edition of Macrium Reflect v7?

These two editions are functionally identical. The Workstation Edition includes an annual support and maintenance product. This adds continual support and free major version updates for the duration of the subscription. Year 1 is included in the the Workstation Edition product price.

Can v7 read and restore images created with Macrium Reflect v6?

Yes, v7 is backwards compatible with all Images and File and Folder backups created with earlier versions of Macrium Reflect.

Will I need to recreate my v6 backup XML definition files?

No, your v6 backup definition files will be loaded into v7 without any conversion.

Can Version 7 be installed over 6? Will both 6 and 7 be on the hard drive? Should 6 be uninstalled first?

Versions 6 and 7 will not exist on your system at the same time. The version 6 installer will uninstall version 5, as part of the install process.

Does Windows PE need to be reinstalled and new rescue CDs made? Will the old Rescue CDs still work?

Version 6 rescue media is compatible with version 7 images, however, we recommend that you update to the latest v7 rescue media after installation.. 

Why can't I change the install location?

For update installs, the facility to change install location is disabled as your scheduled tasks will fail as they reference the reflect program folder.
If you do wish to change the install location

  1. Remove any scheduled tasks.
  2. Uninstall Reflect.
  3. Install, note now you can change the install location.
  4. Setup your scheduled tasks.

After purchasing an upgrade, can I continue to use my 6 license on another computer?

The v7 upgrade is discounted on the basis that you are upgrading your license. Therefore you still are only licensed to use reflect on a single computer. Your v6 license key will be revoked as part of the upgrade process.