Child pages
  • Backing-up Microsoft Exchange databases
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

With Macrium Reflect Server Plus you can choose which databases to backup on the local Microsoft Exchange Server.

Note: Remote backups are not possible.

Before you begin: Macrium Reflect requires the Microsoft Exchange Information Store service to be installed and running in order for successful database backup to function.

  1. On the main Backup interface, click Backup Microsoft Exchange.

    The Microsoft Exchange Backup wizard appears. A Microsoft Exchange 2010 example is shown below:

  2. Select the items you want to backup:
    • For Microsoft Exchange 2010 and later, select individual databases to backup.
    • For Microsoft Exchange 2007 and earlier, select storage groups to backup, this includes all the databases in the selected storage group.
       

      Caution

      Unmounted Exchange databases are shown in the Microsoft Exchange Backup Wizard and can be selected for backup. However, VSS will not include unmounted databases in the snapshot and the Exchange backup will fail. To include these databases in the backup, either ensure the databases are mounted at point of backup, or use established recovery mechanisms to bring the affected databases into a clean, shutdown state. 


      Alternative Locations can be used to provide backup rotations or as a fail safe for temporary unavailability of the primary backup destination.

  3. Optionally, click View selected component files to see the list of files that make up the currently selected items. 

    The Exchange Component File List appears. Files are grouped according to type and show last date modified along with file size. Each category of file shows total size. Groups of files can be expanded/collapsed by clicking the plus/minus button to the left of the file type name.

  4. Enter the Destination Folder for the backup. 
    Note: MS Exchange backups cannot be stored on optical media.
  5. If the primary target location is not available, click Alternative Locations to add the relevant folder.

  6. Click Next to proceed. 
  7. If desired, edit the plan for the backup. For more information see Scheduling backups.

    Select the age or number of backup types that you wish to keep

     

    OptionDescription
    Full When deleting Full backups all linked incremental and Differential backups in the same backup chain (set) are also deleted This operation will delete the entire backup set.
    DifferentialWhen deleting Differential backups all linked incremental  backups in the same backup chain (set) are also deleted.
    Incremental

    When deleting Incremental backups the integrity of the backup set is maintained by ensuring that the chain is never broken. This is achieved by merging older Incremental backups when required.

    In the example below,  before retention, there is 1 Full backup, 1 Differential backup and 6 Incremental backups. The retention rules are set to retain 4 incremental backups. After retention, the most recent 4 incremental backups are retained. Deleting the oldest 2 incrementals would cause the backup chain to be invalid as the oldest retained incremental requires the previous 2 incremental backups to complete the chain. To ensure backup integrity the 2 older incremental backups are consolidated with it to create a new incremental backup.
     

    F = Full
    D = Differential
    I = Incremental

    MTWTF  MTWTF  MTW
    F      IIII  FII
            --->I      


    Create a Synthetic Full if possible

    When purging Incremental backups, if the backup set only contains a Full backup followed by Incremental backups, then this option causes the Full backup to be 'rolled forward' to create a Synthetic Full backup. This is also known as Incremental Forever. 

    Run the purge before the backup

    Select this option to run the retention rules before the current backup.

    Note: in Macrium Reflect v5 the current backup set wasn't included in the purge calculation when purging before the current backup. In v6 the current backup set IS included. This means that if you set the retention count to 1 Full backup then all of your backups will be deleted and a new Full backup created.
    Delete oldest backup set(s) if less than n GBAutomatically remove the oldest backup set(s) in the target folder if the free space on the drive drops below the GB threshold.

     

     

  8. Review the summary of the backup.
  9. Click Finish.
    Backup Save Options is shown.


    Note: Saving a backup definition enables you to run your backup Image at any time with a single click
    Note: You must save your backup definition if you have created backup schedules. Your schedules cannot run if this step is missed.

    If you want to run the backup at this point, select 'Run this backup now' and click OK.